SheHacksPurple: Cards Against AppSec, B-sides, OWASP, more!

Travel, games, talks, mentoring, and coffee, oh my!

The SheHacksPurple Nerd-a-licious Newsletter

💜 Hit ‘reply’ to send me a message or give me feedback!

Hello my friends!

This month I have a lot going on, most notably I’m headed to B-sides Vancouver Island, then B-Sides Edmonton, then to OWASP Global AppSec in an Francisco, where I will speak AND host a mentoring event + a ladies coffee event. Please come see me! Also, watch this video with Izar and I to learn more about mentoring.

For Security Awareness Month (October) I am offering FREE live secure coding training (based on my first book, not my upcoming one), which you can sign up for here. Also, the security awareness month deal (I will virtually speak for your company for free, if you sit down with sales from Semgrep) is still on! You can sign up here. PS The form was broken until last week, and some people may have signed up but not been contacted. I apologize for this technical glitch. If you signed up and were not contacted please reply to this email and I will get you into the program immediately. Sorry folks!

We also had an overwhelming positive response to Cards Against AppSec, the silly party game I made for Semgrep that makes fun of cybersecurity. As a result, we plan to open source the cards so you can print your own, make it available to play for free online (Thank you OWASP, Grant, and Toby!), and make it available for order either for $ or if you attend a Semgrep demo. Stay tuned for details on how to get your own copy!

PS I launched a new free course with Semgrep Academy: Incident Response for Software Developers.

New Content!

Events!

Random Topics Go Here

A video to encourage you to become a mentor or get a mentor, specifically about the OWASP mentoring event I’m running with Amanda McCarvill and Izar Tarandach.

We end with a meme.